Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation appoints new commissioner

Monday, 6 March 2017

Dr Dina McMillan was recently appointed as a Commissioner at the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation.

Dr McMillan is a recognised social psychologist (PhD Stanford) and author with an extensive background in research and community service. For over twenty years, she has worked with organisations and community groups in domestic violence awareness, prevention and policy.

A Commissioner is a statutory office of the commission appointed by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation.

Commissioners are accountable for statutory decision-making relating to a range of gambling and liquor matters. This includes the grant, variation and transfer of licences and permits, such as the approval of proposed gaming premises and requests for increased gaming machines, determining disciplinary actions against licensees and permittees, and reviewing the decisions made under delegation by individual Commissioners or members of staff.

Dr McMillan, who has been appointed until November 2019, joins the five current members of the commission:

  • Dr Bruce Cohen - Chair
  • Ross Kennedy - Deputy Chair
  • Helen Versey - Deputy Chair
  • Deirdre O'Donnell - Commissioner
  • Des Powell - Commissioner

Read more on the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation website.

Subscribe to the Gambling Information Resource Office's mail list to receive updates on gambling information and news.

See past alerts

Sign up

Short and sharp overviews and explanations of gambling regulation, data, and activities.

Read more

We provide information on the gambling regulatory framework in Victoria and Australia as well as links to legislation.

Read more